HERU takes pride in the service we provide our Johns Hopkins Community and constantly strives to improve. Here are various recognitions our members and unit have received that exemplify our dedication to providing exemplary medical care and making campus safer.

EMS Week 2013, 2017
Awarded by the National Collegiate Emergency Medical Services Foundation in recognition of an exemplary campus EMS Week celebration that values community education and engagement.

The Homewood Award, 2016
Awarded annually by the Johns Hopkins Senior Class to an organization for outstanding service to students, student life, and the University.

HEARTSafe Campus, 2016
Awarded by the National Collegiate Emergency Medical Services Foundation in partnership with HEARTSAFE Communities, the American Heart Association, and The Sudden Cardiac Arrest Foundation for Rapid Response by CPR and AED Trained First Responders, Rapid Public Access to Defibrillation, Early Access to Advanced Care, Public CPR and AED Training for the Community, and Engagement in Preventative Cardiovascular Healthcare Activities.

James Hoff Sr. Distinguished Responder Award
Named after our founding member, this is awarded by HERU to members who respond to 100 or more calls during their tenure
Lauren Chavis, Class of 2014
Dominic Nistal, Class of 2014
Steven Chen, Class of 2015
Lauren Vignaly, Class of 2015
Hannah McNeley, Class of 2016
Tommy Renner, Class of 2016
Hailey Rosenthal, Class of 2016
Andrew Rosenblum, Class of 2017
Adarsha Malla, Class of 2017
Samantha Halpern, Class of 2017

HERU New Member Award
Awarded by HERU to a member of HERO who joined during the current academic year and exhibited significant dedication and commitment to the mission of HERO. The member is chosen by the Crew Chiefs with confirmation by the Line Officers.
2017 Recipient: Leyla Herbst